1. Homepage
  2. Law Dictionary
  3. Seven Dirty Words and Censorship Laws in the United States

Seven Dirty Words and Censorship Laws in the United States

In the United States, there are laws against uttering certain words in public. These words are commonly referred to as the “seven dirty words.” The reason for censorship laws is to protect citizens from hearing obscene or profane language that could be considered offensive. However, these laws have been challenged on the grounds of freedom of speech. In this blog post, we’ll take a look at the history of the seven dirty words and censorship laws in the United States.

seven dirty words

What Are Seven Dirty Words?

The seven dirty words are “shit,” “fuck,” “cunt,” “asshole,” “piss,” “cocksucker,” and “motherfucker.” They were made famous by comedian George Carlin in 1972.

The words were considered highly indecent and inadvisable for broadcast on the public airwaves in the United States, whether via radio or television. As a result, they were avoided in prepared content and bleeped when necessary. Because broadcast standards differ throughout the world today, and even in Carlin’s day, the words on his original list are still taboo on American broadcast television. The list was not an official listing of prohibited phrases; rather, it was compiled by Carlin to flow more smoothly during a comedy routine.

Nonetheless, the Supreme Court’s decision in FCC v. Pacifica Foundation helped to define the limits of government control over broadcast television and radio speech in the United States.

Federal Communications Commission:

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent agency of the United States government that is responsible for regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 to replace the Federal Radio Commission. The FCC took over wire communication regulation from the Interstate Commerce Commission. 

The FCC’s jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions and territories. The FCC also has regulatory authority over commercial satellite services, which fall under its authority when they cross state lines. The FCC regulates communications services such as telephone, cable TV, and Internet service providers. It also sets rules for wireless communication services such as cellular phones and

FCC v. Pacifica Foundation:

In FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, the Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) ban on indecent speech on the public airwaves.

The case arose after a father complained to the FCC about a George Carlin monologue that aired on Pacifica Radio station WBAI in New York City. The monologue was entitled “Seven Dirty Words” and contained graphic descriptions of sexual acts and genitalia.

The FCC ruled that the Carlin monologue was indecent and violated its standards against obscene and indecent speech. Pacifica challenged the ruling, arguing that it violated their First Amendment rights to free speech. In 1978, the Supreme Court decided that the FCC’s declaratory ruling did not violate either the First or Fifth Amendments, but it limited its decision to the particular broadcast that prompted it and declined to examine whether the FCC’s definition of indecency would withstand a First Amendment challenge if applied to other material containing comparable or identical language.

Communications Decency Act of 1996:

Answer: The Communications Decency Act of 1996 (CDA) is a United States federal law that amended the Communications Act of 1934. The CDA was signed into law by President Bill Clinton on February 8, 1996.

The CDA codified the first amendment principle that Internet Service Providers (ISPs) are not liable for the content that is posted on their networks by third-party posters. This “safe harbor” provision was designed to encourage ISPs to self-police their networks for offensive or illegal content without fear of being sued.

The CDA also criminalized the transmission of “indecent” material over the Internet, including any material that might be considered lewd, lascivious, or obscene.

Write a Comment

Write a Comment